Star Wars: The Bad Batch Series Announced

Even before the final season of The Clone Wars ended, rumors filled the internet about the next animated Star Wars project. Little did we know the opening arc of season 7 was actually a backdoor pilot of sorts for the new show! Announced today, Star Wars: The Bad Batch series will follow the post-Clone Wars adventures of Clone Force 99, aka “The Bad Batch.” The series will air exclusively on Disney+ in 2021.

Echo and The Bad Batch salute Captain Rex
The Bad Batch at the end of Season 7 of The Clone Wars

Little information was given about the show in the official announcement, but one key detail was revealed. The show takes place after the fall of the Republic and the end of the Clone Wars. Clone Force 99 has become a band of mercenaries and is fighting to survive in a rapidly changing galaxy that has forgotten about the heroes of the war.

Numerous veterans of The Clone Wars, Rebels, and Resistance will join executive producer Dave Filoni to continue the great tradition of quality Star Wars animated storytelling. A voice cast was not announced, but we can expect Dee Bradley Baker, the voice of every clone ever (at least in animation) to reprise his role as he has done regularly.

With Filoni moving into more of an overseer role on multiple shows including The Mandalorian, the animated wing of Star Wars storytelling needed a new leader. Serving as supervising director for the series, a role Filoni famously filled on The Clone Wars, is Brad Rau. Rau directed several episodes of Rebels and Resistance.

The Bad Batch series will air sometime in 2021. What do you think of the show? Are you excited the story of Clone Force 99 continue? Let us know in the comments below.

Adam Soucie
Adam has been a Star Wars fan for as long as he can remember, dating back to watching the original trilogy on VHS and collecting his first action figures with the Power of the Force launch in 1995. His favorite character is Kanan Jarrus, and his favorite piece of Star Wars is the Rebels animated series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *